Wolf3d Haven Forum

Please log in or register. Smile
Wolf3d Haven Forum

A friendly Wolfenstein 3D community, about Wolfenstein 3D, the game that gave birth to first person shooters...


    Operation Arctic Wolf Preview Released

    Share

    Schabbs
    Extreme Wolfer
    Extreme Wolfer

    Male
    Number of posts : 3037
    Location : London, England.
    Job : Retired
    Hobbie : Playing Wolf3D/ROTT, eating out, travel, music, snooker
    Registration date : 2007-03-24

    Operation Arctic Wolf Preview Released

    Post by Schabbs on Sun Nov 22, 2009 3:23 pm

    Operation Arctic Wolf Preview Released

    JDWolf7 has started work on Operation Arctic Wolf. This is a one-level preview release. You'll notice that some of the graphics are unchanged. Even though the first level may not be extensive, it's okay. There will be source code changes planned:
    ~Gun Bobbing
    ~Full Screen
    ~Changed Floor and Ceiling Colors
    ~3D Directional Sprites
    There will be some more source code changes if JD can get ideas for them. The preview is available here. Requires the Activision release of Wolfenstein 3D to play



    Brian.
    Cat Productions - mapper

    Z.Franz
    Freshmen
    Freshmen

    Male
    Number of posts : 11
    Age : 23
    Location : Trieste, Italy
    Job : High School student
    Hobbie : Wolf3d. DooM1, 2 & 3. VSWAP drawing
    Message : Creator of Halo hand drawn weapons sprites, half-life 2 hand drawn weapons sprites, and DOOM Death Doesn't Wait.
    Registration date : 2009-06-18

    Re: Operation Arctic Wolf Preview Released

    Post by Z.Franz on Mon Nov 23, 2009 12:47 pm

    Why is everybody using those "one color" dark gloves?

    Thomas
    Veteran
    Veteran

    Male
    Number of posts : 1660
    Age : 26
    Registration date : 2007-09-13

    Re: Operation Arctic Wolf Preview Released

    Post by Thomas on Tue Nov 24, 2009 2:26 am

    There's only been one true original game - "Project: Eisenritter" which used the gloves originally. It was also there the "truck" sprite (Which is actually walls) started, and the main texture you see there. Luke Strauman was making a great project also called "Arctic Wolf" way back in 2002 or '03 which was much, much more innovative. Wolf Skevos-Jones is a true genius, and many people have stolen his sprites, guards and weapons with or without gloves. It's a sad thing, really. We've come so far with Wolfing, but we still haven't seen a decent "Arctic" mod other than "Eisenritter".

    Z.Franz
    Freshmen
    Freshmen

    Male
    Number of posts : 11
    Age : 23
    Location : Trieste, Italy
    Job : High School student
    Hobbie : Wolf3d. DooM1, 2 & 3. VSWAP drawing
    Message : Creator of Halo hand drawn weapons sprites, half-life 2 hand drawn weapons sprites, and DOOM Death Doesn't Wait.
    Registration date : 2009-06-18

    Re: Operation Arctic Wolf Preview Released

    Post by Z.Franz on Tue Nov 24, 2009 5:40 am

    Yeah, I agree. Wolf Skevos Jones was a genius.
    I made some gloved weapons, based on the original wolf3d's ones, but with all the greyscale needed, not just black.

    Thomas
    Veteran
    Veteran

    Male
    Number of posts : 1660
    Age : 26
    Registration date : 2007-09-13

    Re: Operation Arctic Wolf Preview Released

    Post by Thomas on Tue Nov 24, 2009 6:04 am

    Don't say "was"! Smile Wolf is alive and kicking on the DHW forums, believe me. In my recent mod I'll include a guard he's never used before. He gave it to me. It's a scientist without a messy coat, as opposed to the scientists in his own games.

    Z.Franz
    Freshmen
    Freshmen

    Male
    Number of posts : 11
    Age : 23
    Location : Trieste, Italy
    Job : High School student
    Hobbie : Wolf3d. DooM1, 2 & 3. VSWAP drawing
    Message : Creator of Halo hand drawn weapons sprites, half-life 2 hand drawn weapons sprites, and DOOM Death Doesn't Wait.
    Registration date : 2009-06-18

    Re: Operation Arctic Wolf Preview Released

    Post by Z.Franz on Tue Nov 24, 2009 9:21 am

    Sorry, I didn't know. Anyway, Castle Totenkopf is the best wolf 3d-themed mod I ever played.

    SSJKlonoa
    Freshmen
    Freshmen

    Male
    Number of posts : 17
    Age : 21
    Message : Goodbye.
    Registration date : 2009-06-02

    Re: Operation Arctic Wolf Preview Released

    Post by SSJKlonoa on Tue Dec 15, 2009 7:36 am

    I knew people were going to reply with that.

    Since nobody ever gives credit to WSJ for using his material, I made a txt file and mentioned him in it.

    Credits:
    JDWolf7 - Project Manager, Title Design, Level Design
    WSJ - Graphics, Sounds, Textures
    WLHack - Graphics, Sounds
    Laz Rojas - Graphics, Sounds
    Ian Summerfield - Graphics
    Majik Monkee - Graphics
    RKS - Graphics
    BJ Rowan - Textures

    Edit: I know for a fact that taking material and not mentioning who made it gets you nowhere.

    WLHack
    Senior Member
    Senior Member

    Male
    Number of posts : 798
    Age : 28
    Location : Finland
    Registration date : 2007-03-26

    Re: Operation Arctic Wolf Preview Released

    Post by WLHack on Wed Dec 16, 2009 12:51 am

    No one? Hehe, I do..



    Hammer: I can see it now: you and the moon - wear a necktie so I'll know you.
    Building a new webpage...

    Sponsored content

    Re: Operation Arctic Wolf Preview Released

    Post by Sponsored content Today at 5:54 pm


      Current date/time is Thu Dec 08, 2016 5:54 pm